DIY Newborn nest tutorial

For awhile now I’ve been admiring those newborn posing bean bag chairs but I’m cheap and I just couldn’t shell out $95+ for an unfilled bean bag chair. So I set out to make my own and I took a few pictures along the way in hopes of helping someone else. I used Nikki Sue Photography’s site, she was nice enough to post dimensions and general instructions here. Please don’t be intimidated by this project. If you’ve got access to a sewing machine and you can figure out how to thread the bobbin you can do this. It’s that easy.

I bought 4 yards of vinyl at Joann Fabric with a 50% off coupon for $20. I would highly suggest vinyl because it can be wiped clean in the event of accidents.

Then I traced out a 42″ circle on the back of the vinyl by marking a center point and using a tape measure to draw a curved line 21″ away from the center (think giant compass). Then I cut out the circle I had traced.

Next, I traced the circle on the remaining vinyl and cut it out. Now I had 2 matching circles 42″ in diameter.

Then I cut out 2 16″ wide stripes out of the remaining fabric. It’s okay if they are not the same length. You could even use 3 or 4 stripes of fabric if you needed to, you’d just have a few more seams.You will need the total length when sewn together to be 132″.

I placed the 2 side panels together with the “bad” sides of the fabric facing out and stitch them together.

Now there’s one long piece with a seam in the center.

Then hem one end of the long piece and sew one side of the Velcro near the hem.

I added 2 rows of Velcro just to be on the safe side.

Now for the assembly! I sewed one of the circles to the long piece of fabric. I just slowly worked my way around adjusting the material every couple of inches. Then I did the same thing with the other circle. Once I finished I sew the other side of the Velcro on. I waited till the last minute because I wanted to make sure the 2 pieces lined up. Next, I flipped it inside out. You should have a flat puck shaped thing.

I order 4 bags of bean bag fill at Walmart. This is the expensive part. The bags are $15 a piece.

This is the easiest way I could find to fill the bean bag. I took a toilet paper roll, taped the bag to one end and stuck the other end in the “puck”.

Here’s the finished product! I’m not the best seamstress so if you look closely you’d find a lot of errors but it works for what I need.

Hope this helps someone save a few bucks.

11 thoughts on “DIY Newborn nest tutorial

  1. Thanks for the tutorial. I was so excited to find a lot of different options for fabric on the clearance table at Joanne’s, and with a 20% coupon on top of that! I followed your instructions, but I got a used bean bag from a friend and got the filling out of that, so it was a lot less expensive if you can find a bean bag someone doesn’t want anymore. :)

  2. Shana…can you please tell me what kind of Vinyl fabric did you use? I went to Joann over the weekend and seems like there many choices of the Vinyl. There were some that are Vinyl with Fanel Backing (for like $7 per yard) and there were some that looked like leather (like $20 per yard). Didn’t know which one to buy. Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

